Newsletter of the Game Theory Society 2012


to Alvin E. Roth and Lloyd S. Shapley for receiving The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 2012 "for the theory of stable allocations and the practice of market design".
Alvin E. Roth Lloyd S. Shapley
Alvin E. Roth Lloyd S. Shapley

New Officers' election results

(mailed to GTS members by Eric Maskin on 6 July 2012)

Dear Members of the Game Theory Society,

According to the Bylaws of our Society, elections for the Officers of the Society have to be held every two years. The Officers (the President, the Past President, the Executive Vice-President, the Vice-President for Communications, and the Secretary/Treasurer) are responsible for the ongoing operations of the Society. New officers are elected by the members of the Council, upon a proposal drawn up by the Steering Committee, using the system of approval voting.

The elections took place last month, and we would like to inform you of the outcome.

In the election 22 Council members (out of 36) voted, and this is the result:

The newly elected officers will take up their positions on August 1, 2010.

We thank all the people who contributed their effort towards this election, and wish the new officers all the best in fulfilling their duties. With kind regards,

Eric Maskin

President of the Game Theory Society

ACM Gödel Prize for Seminal Papers in Algorithmic Game Theory

(posted June 3, 2012)

The ACM's (Association for Computing Machinery) Special Interest Group on Computation Theory (SIGACT) together with the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS) will recognize three groups of researchers for their contributions to understanding how selfish behavior by users and service providers impacts the behavior of the Internet and other complex computational systems. The three papers on Algorithmic Game Theory are due to Elias Koutsoupias and Christos H. Papadimitriou (GTS Council Member), Tim Roughgarden and Éva Tardos, and Noam Nisan and Amir Ronen. They will receive the 2012 Gödel Prize, sponsored jointly by SIGACT and EATCS for outstanding papers in theoretical computer science at the International Colloquium on Automata, Languages and Programming (ICALP), July 9-13, in Warwick, UK.

Congratulations to the prizewinners for this recognition of their seminal work on Algorithmic Game Theory!

Israeli Chapter of the Game Theory Society

(posted April 23, 2012)

With the Founding Committee of Yisrael Aumann, Sergiu Hart, and Ehud Lehrer, the Game Theory Society has an Israeli Chapter since April 2012. David Schmeidler is the first President of the Chapter. It is open to all GTS members interested in its activities. For enquiries please contact the Executive Officer of the Chapter, Eilon Solan, at

Its current activities are:

Online Game Theory Class

(mailed to GTS members by Federico Valenciano on 24 February 2012)

Matthew Jackson and Yoav Shoham are launching an online game theory class that is free and open to the public. It is a six week introductory class covering some basics of game theory, and will begin shortly. It already has eighty thousand students, but is still open to enrollment. Details can be found at:

Call for Papers: Dynamic Games and Applications -
Special Issue on Stochastic Games

Guest Editors:

Andrzej Nowak, University of Zielona Góra,
Eilon Solan, Tel Aviv University,
Sylvain Sorin, Université Pierre et Marie Curie,

To celebrate the 60th anniversary of the seminal paper of L.S. Shapley in 1953, Dynamic Games and Applications will publish in 2013 a special issue on stochastic games. Shapley's Stochastic Games paper has had a tremendous scientific impact, and there is still a very active research on this area, and in particular in:

The special issue welcomes submissions from theoreticians and applied researchers working on all aspects of stochastic games, as well as on their applications in all fields.

Submission Deadline: March 2012

Publication Date: March 2013 (first issue of Volume 3 of DGAA)

For submission instructions, please visit:

homesite mapcontactsite info